top of page
  • Writer's pictureZeziliax

UWCiM Week 4 (and the missing Week 2 &3)

It's been a month since I landed on the lands of Balkans.


A month of being truly independent and responsible.


If you were to ask me, "How it went?" Honestly, a single word wouldn't be enough to explain the number of different feelings I felt in here at the same time and how fast things change in here.


And, unfortunately school started. I officially entered into the IBDP life and it seems like I'll have a future filled with galloons of coffee, long hours of studying and stress eating.


That looks like a good introduction to this post. Let's get on with the updates.

............................................................................................................................................................................

In Week 2, the main highlight was the RedBull Cliff Diving Event. The experience is so different when you're less than a 50 meters away from the divers and watch them make the jump. It was amazing to watch them with no glass in between and in 4D :)


Every time, they jump off the platform, my chest was getting tight as I watch them smoothly hit the water. The sound they make the moment they enter the water is really horrific as well. It's somewhat like a crushing sound, and when you relate with the diver, the pain of that gives me chills.

.................................................................................................................................................................................

In Week 3, the school started getting serious. I have already started dreading for the Friday to come. But, it ended up coming with loads of work, which really wasn't pleasant at all.


The weekend parties, especially the Friday one was what I needed. You go to that dance floor and dance for hours. Your stress level hits zero and you return the residence with a refreshed mind. The UWC parties seemed intimidating at first, but I think I blended well with the culture.


Also, we had our very first TURKISH Dinner this week. It was a bonding time! And of course, eating time! It feels like home when you speak Turkish in here. You really miss speaking your mother tongue at times and being with the only people that actually understand you when you speak Turkish was what I needed after being away from home for 3 weeks.


Well, although we couldn't eat Turkish food, because there wasn't any, we had a lot of Turkish talks and I have a second family here now. It feels great to be home.

.................................................................................................................................................................................

Finally, WEEK 4! It's astounding to now that I spent a month here...


In one month, I made so many friends and added new 'family members' to my life. At the same time, I lost a friend - well, you can't get along with everyone, right?


This week, I've realised that I'm actually from the Balkans. I always thought that my origins were from the Balkans, but I didn't know that I am currently from the Balkans, too. This has changed the way I perceived this place and it started feeling like more home that it was before. I'M FROM THE BALKANS AND I'M PROUD OF THAT!


Also, we had our very first jogging CAS session. Although, I've been running professionally since the past 2 years, it was intimadating to see all these people from different parts of the world and going on a jog with them.


At the same time, it was a moment of memories coming alive, because the last time I ran in a group, there were my dad and brother. Now, I don't have them here with me and god knows, when will I run with them again.


Anyways, we started jogging and it turned into a proper run, going way faster than my usual pace. It was a challenge and I liked it. I also liked exploring the city. We ran to this place called, 'The Green Bridge' and the view was magnificent. It's just amazing! I could literally stand there the whole day without even getting bored for a second. And I get bored easily, so that should give you an idea of its beauty level.


I saved the best for the last. There's this delicious amazing dish called 'PLACINKA' in here. Yeah, you better remember that word, because it's the best dessert you can get in here. And, it's the very same reason behind me gaining weight in here. Bosnians got taste man. I am so happy that god has crossed my path with this delicious treat, because otherwise, I would have missed a lot in this world.


And, that sums up this week! Adios!


P.S. That's literally the only word, I learned in Spanish, so far :)



60 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

This Girl is On Fire?!

Date: 8 February 2019 The life in UWCiM is continuing at its usual busy pace. And, this week is unique, because it's African Culture Week! On Sunday, we had our opening ceremony that officially kick s

bottom of page