top of page
  • Writer's pictureZeziliax

Turned 360 in Two Weeks

It all began the moment I clicked the 'Submit' button. One click, taking less than a second, ended up opening a new door in my life. Yes, as you all have guessed from the very much blatant blog name... I am going to UWC Mostar! I will be headed there in just a few months, and as you can see from the title, IM HELLA EXCITED!


UWC is a prestigious school and it's a big deal to get in. I was one of those students that were overwhelmed by the vibes of UWC, so I applied.


The day I submitted my application, I came across this glaring statement on its website, " Only 20 candidates from Turkey will be chosen." You wouldn't imagine how terrible I felt.


"Well girl, Turkey isn't a small country. Most likely there will be over a thousand submissions and why would they even bother to pick you?" was just one of the many thoughts that rushed through my head at the time. Honestly, it didn't actually rush through my head; it got stuck there. Bothered me for days and days as if I didn't have anything else to be bothered about in my school.


Thankfully, I passed the first stage; only to know that there were many more stages to go. Let me tell you about these "stages"; a Skype interview, a written test, a group game, and a real-life interview. As I recall it now, the amount of stress my mind was under over the last month gives me chills.


On top of it all, the worst part was that I, being the only international applicant, went to take a written test in Turkish. I didn't understand more than half of the paper nor remembered the last time I took a multiple choice exam. Just to make the situation better, I was surrounded by the top students in Turkey, who were literally geniuses. And, I passed. God Bless!


Then came the waiting. Long days of waiting. Waiting for a phone call.


Finally, on one Saturday night at 10 p.m. my dad's phone rang. At first, my initial reaction was, "Who the heck would call my dad at this time?" Then, the thought of UWC calling popped up in my head. I still remember myself sprinting to the living room - the fastest run I ever did and firing questions at my dad, " Who's it? Is it UWC? Dad? Please tell me." Oh God, how annoying was I.


After he hung up the phone, he shared the great news.


I was ACCEPTED. I was going to UWC MOSTAR!


It was that night that I couldn't sleep with the thought of leaving this place, my home for the past six years and saying goodbye to my friends to start my new life at UWC Mostar.


It was so unexpected. I was expecting to continue my education in Malaysia for the next two years, but a phone call changed my path. I was permanently leaving this place in less than three months. I still can't believe it. Is this real?

This is the place I will be going in a few months... I'm mesmerised by its beauty already!


96 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page