top of page
  • Writer's pictureZeziliax

Less Than a Week Left?!

Time actually flies faster than I thought. It only seems like a few days past since my graduation from high school. Two months have passed and by the time I realize… guess what?…less than a week left to my new beginning.


I literally have no idea what happened to my well-planned summer. I was supposed to read tons of books, get into shape and spend all the time I have with my beloved ones. Sadly, these plans just remained on the paper and I’m about to start college in a totally unprepared position.


My family already went back to Malaysia and I stayed back in Turkey with my relatives… waiting for the ‘time’ to pass. It honestly has been harder than I expected. I’ve got to know that behind the confident me stands a little girl, who is deeply bonded to her family. I didn’t even know this part of my personality until now.


I had been in the mood of living the joy of gaining my complete freedom, entering the boarding life, and traveling the world since the past couple of months. This mood is now kind of shattered by the longing for my family. My nights are mostly accompanied by tears these days. I actually became an emotional person… I could literally cry at any moment as the memories come alive.


The other day I started crying in the car because the last time I passed on that very same road was with my family. Suddenly, I felt the rush of emotions as I remembered all the jokes and the good times we had. Knowing the fact that I won’t be able to live in those moments for the upcoming two years, freed the endless tears from their prison.


This is pretty much my life these days. Pretty depressing, right?


On the other side of the story, I can feel the butterflies in my abdomen area and the rush of blood in my veins. I’m actually nervous and at the same time extremely excited. Soon, I’ll be staring at my school with my own eyes…not through the screen of my laptop. Soon, I’ll enter into the united world community and have my new diverse family. And soon, I’ll be completely free and take my first steps towards being an adult.


Or… soon, I’ll just suffer from the tortures of IB.


Sometimes, it’s better to live in the mystery of what’s awaiting you. Right now, I can only make assumptions and predictions. I don’t know how my room looks like…my residence… the town and the interior of the school… And, I don’t want to know it, just for the sake of not popping the magic bubble.


This mystery is the reason behind my butterflies and I kind of like it that way.

Before I fall into the stress of packing and the emotional moments of saying, ‘Goodbye,’ to my relatives…


ADIOS! And, I’ll see you at UWC Mostar!

39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

This Girl is On Fire?!

Date: 8 February 2019 The life in UWCiM is continuing at its usual busy pace. And, this week is unique, because it's African Culture Week! On Sunday, we had our opening ceremony that officially kick s

bottom of page